Skip to content

Legit Coffee

The quest for enlightenment through coffee.

MarcusAt long last I made it to the Victrola on 15th Ave on Seattle’s Capitol Hill. It is shocking, really, that I hadn’t been there before. I’ve been drinking coffee in Seattle for almost twenty years, and I’ve even been to bars on 15th, I’ve been by tons of times.

So, when Monica (also of our Legit team) texted to see if I was up, I knew at last I’d go. My first advice: take the bus. Parking sucks here. But the bus is much more with the cafe ethic anyway.

The place is hopping. I have to say that for such a busy, well known shop, quite a few people were solo at their four person tables. I prefer the shared space attitudes one finds at Zoka or Fiore (which I’ll review soon.). But after getting our orders in Monica and I found a table and embarked. And everything she recently wrote on atmosphere totally applies.

First: the latte. Damn. For years, Vivace was the standard in Seattle, far and away the coolest and highest quality shop around. This was easily on par. This is almost certainly in part due to the Guatemalan single origin espresso, which was so remarkable that drink two had to be a macchiato. It is smooth, dark, I found it to taste a bit like pound cake, if one can imagine that. Like it melted in your mouth, but while a little sweet it wasn’t exactly chocolate. Just go have it.

The art: quite good. Standard rosettes for me, Monica got some fancier stuff. Foam was remarkably smooth to both the tongue and the eye. Even the best sometimes have some bubblies, but not today. This probably contributed to the pound cake feel. Fantastic.

The food: we have to eat, and they have some fine, simple eats. I had baguette with ham and Brie, and a tasty biscotti.

Atmosphere: people watching here is fun, as it is all over Cap Hill. All sorts of people converge here, and it had the feel that made Seattle great in the 90s (the dream of the nineties is alive in… Seattle?). People in jeans and flannel, people in suits with bowties and suspenders, piercings, whatever, and everyone is chatting.

I’ve long been a Zoka partisan, largely for their spectacular and very consistent cappuccino. Another few trips here, and I may switch allegiances.

Tags: , , ,

